Trust

Well here we find ourselves on a Sunday evening with mounds of homework to do and little time to do it…such is a college students life.  Over the past couple of weeks I have been thinking on what I would like to do with the rest of my life…right now I am a secondary education and history majors.  I am currently taking a 200 level theology class and this class has sparked my lost interest in becoming a pastor to a new understanding that I have never had.

My grandma, since my freshman research paper on becoming a pastor, has told me that I will be a pastor of congregation one day.  This has always stuck with me and with the amount of interest in theology, I decided to look into it a little more. I emailed an admission counselor at Ft. Wayne seminary to find out a little more about becoming a pastor.  To make a long story short, he told me that I could continue on with my secondary education degree, but he would recommend that I switch to a theology or classics major.  This raised a question that is the focus of this blog…Trust.

Of course I know that this is a very “safe” idea to obtain a different degree  encase ministry does not work out…but think of it this way… Am I not majoring in theology because I am scared what will happen if I graduate with a theology and do not want to attend seminary? Am I not trusting God?

Trust is a very interesting thing, it takes months and years to build and then it is crushed in a matter of seconds.  I know that I am so unworthy of God’s protection and love, but He gives it to everyone anyway.  In Matthew chapter 6 it talks about this kind of worry…a worry of providing.

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

So whether you are contemplating over what you should eat for dinner or whether you should change careers, do not fear.  A friend once told me that you have to be strong in the letting go.  Let go of the reins and let God have it all, let Him and his Holy Spirit guide you without fear.  Accept the call that God has sent to you for He will provide you with all that you NEED.  And although the world will try and take that away from you, “Take heart, I have overcome the world.”

Prayer: Dear Lord, I yee of little trust do not deserve your protection and love after all the times that I have chosen to neglect you, but still you graciously bless me with this. I pray that you would help me to fully let go of my life and give it to you because I know that you will keep me in the palm of your hand. Amen.

P.S. Tired of checking back every couple of days to see if I have published anything? Why not subscribe and have an email sent to you with the post in it instead? Go to the homepage by clicking on the blue box and follow the instructions on the subscription button.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Trust”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I think you should do it. I have the upmost confidence that if you truly feel that this is your path then you will succeed 🙂

  2. Shay Says:

    Wendy sent me your way. My boys are in the YYR youth group. Thank you so much for these words of wisdom. I am going through the whole finding my direction, my purpose. Turning 40 does that. I, too, have a hard time with letting go of the reins. Working on it. The scripture you included really hit home.

  3. Wendy Says:

    “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

    Jared, you will make an amazing pastor. I can hear it in your heart and see the passion in your eyes when you talk about God’s amazing love. I know you can do it, now trust God to lead you in the direction he is calling you to go.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

